Kundalini Yoga refers to a spiritual, physical and mental discipline that is meant to develop the character, awareness, strength and consciousness of the ones practicing it. This type of yoga is also known under the name of the ‘yoga of awareness’ because of the fact that it focuses on expanding intuition and sensory awareness as a means to raise people’s individual consciousness and then merge it with God’s infinite consciousness.

What is Kundalini Yoga?

The purpose of Kundalini Yoga is related to the cultivation of the human’s creative spiritual potential of upholding values, of speaking the truth and finally of focusing on the consciousness and compassion that is needed in order to heal and serve other people.

This type of yoga mainly addresses householders, meaning people who must cope daily with the challenges and the stress of managing businesses, keeping jobs or raising children and taking care of their house. On the other hand, it is also recommended to those who must manage other kinds of stress, like students, elders and so on.

Kundalini Yoga: The Yoga of Awareness

Kundalini Yoga principles

In keeping with the principles of Kundalini Yoga, the length of a human’s spine has three main nerve channels running along it. The first one is known under the name of Ida and it represents the moon’s negative energy. The second one is named Pingala and represents the sun’s positive energy. The central one is named Shushmana. This one runs into a very straight line along the entire length of the spinal cord. While practicing this kind of yoga, the three need to be balanced.

Another principle of this discipline is linked to the glandular stimulation. The pineal gland must always be stimulated during the practice of this kind of yoga, as it is said to be able to secrete some brain chemicals responsible for consciousness-elevation.

The chanting of the ‘Ong’ is another principle that must be respected by all practitioners. ‘Ong’ refers to the very Creator in numerous manifested states. By chanting it, the third eye focus can be opened and therefore the mind can be allowed to expand consciousness.

Finally, the last principle refers to a breath of fire, meaning to a strong and rapid way of breathing. However, this is not regular breathing, but a kind that allows the breath flowing to enter and then to get out of the body, for means of raising awareness.

Kundalini Yoga: The Yoga of Awareness

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

By consistently practicing Kundalini Yoga, people can take advantage of numerous benefits. First of all, this type of yoga is able to increase endurance, strength, balance and flexibility, plus it stimulates the glands, tones the body and cleanses it at the same time. The techniques that this discipline makes use of are also able to reduce depression, anxiety, fatigue and stress. It can offer mental clarity and provide the basis for healthier thoughts.

Basic Kundalini Yoga poses

For clearing the chakras, Kundalini Yoga proposes no less than seven basic poses. The first pose is the Root one. This has to do with survival, fear and foundations. The second one is named Sacral. It is linked to relationships, creation and desire. To these two follow the Solar Plexus and the Heart poses that are linked to will, action and love. The fifth pose is the Throat one that has to do with communication, while the sixth one is named The Third Eye and is linked to wisdom and intuition. Finally, the last pose is the Crown one. In turn, this can improve the state of the soul and the capacity of transcendence.