Or Login using BecomeGorgeous
Please fill the form below and follow the further instructions.
You are about to receive a email from us please make sure to check your spam or junk folder and add our email firstname.lastname@example.org to your contact list.
Published on: 16 Jun 2016 by bhqonline
If you are a resident in Texas and you are new to the traffic laws in this state, then there are 5 things you should know about DUIs in Texas. This information will help you plan ahead if you are arrested for one or if you are planning to drink and drive. A DUI is usually a Class C misdemeanor in Texas. Even a smell of alcohol on your breath can get you arrested.
How much do you have to drink to be arrested for a Dui in Texas will be determined by your blood alcohol content (BAC) under 21 drivers have a limit of .02, 21 or older drivers are limited to .08 while commercial should not go beyond .04. You can determine the amount of impairment when you use BAC charts. BAC Calculator can also help you calculate the number of standard drinks to keep you from exceeding the set limits. However, for a DUI you might be arrested if the arresting officer finds any trace of alcohol in your system.
Implied consent law
Texas State has imposed the implied consent law. This law will guarantee you a license suspension and fines if you refuse to submit to a chemical test when under arrest. A refusal hearing will put you under the administrative authority and court of law- each will impose its penalties and fine if you are found guilty. The first offender will lose his or her license for 180 days, the second offender get a 2-year license suspension and a third offender or any subsequent violation will land you a 2-year license suspension.
Texas zero tolerance law
You should know about the Texas zero tolerance laws for minors and alcohol driving. Since a DUI applies to minors or drivers below the age of 21, then they get a combined administrative and criminal penalty. The first offender is required to undergo an Alcohol Education Program at least 12 hours long and if he or she does not complete, one gets an additional 180 days of license suspension. Normally a DUI offender faces a license suspension of 60 days or more and pay a fine of up to $500. The judge will decide if you should do a community service (20 to 40 hours) or obtain an ignition interlock device.
The zero tolerance increases penalties for repeat offenses. Therefore, you might get a fine of between $500 and $2,000. A community service can go up to 40 to 60 hours. The judge can sentence you up to 180 days in jail depending on your violation. Your license suspension can go up to one year if you happen to record a BAC of .08 or greater (punishable under a DWI). There is no “look back” period if you get your first DUI, so convictions remain on record and can influence future DUI criminal cases.
Minimum liability insurance coverage
If you are arrested for a DUI, Texas department of motor vehicles (DMV) might want to know if you have met the minimum liability insurance coverage. This means that you will require an SR22 to verify that your automotive insurance policy can pay a maximum amount of $30,000 per person for bodily injury, a total amount of $60,000 for several people injured and a total amount of $25,000 for property damage.
The SR22 insurance is provided by you insurance company which is responsible for filing the request with the Texas DMV- This applies to car owners and non-owners. You are required to maintain and pay your policy premiums until your DUI conviction is over. You will require this document to reinstate the driving privileges.
What we offer
The Select Insurance Group is an insurance company that is located in the US. It is your only solution to obtaining SR22/FR44/SR50/SR22A in Texas. We provide SR22 insurance for high-risk drivers, so you can count on us to help you secure an affordable means of getting your driver’s license back. We have an auto form quote that we would like you to fill so that we can clearly know what you need. Please contact us if you need more information about DUIs in Texas.